May 2018
Scott Cup 2018

The 69th Scott Cup Competition took place at the Shek O Golf and Country Club on Friday 2nd February 2018. As tradition dictates, it was the coldest day of the year in Hong Kong, with temperatures well below 10 °C, but 49 hardy souls still chose to brave the elements to compete for the silverware.

The Scott Cup was first presented in 1950 by John Scott, a Director of JS&S, who decided that a golf tournament would be a suitable sporting event for an annual gathering of Swire group staff. The Alethea Scott Rose Bowl trophy for ladies was presented by John Scott's wife, Alethea, in 1964. The Taikoo Cup was introduced by Swire group Chairman, John Anthony Swire, in 1973, for the leading Hong Kong – based player – thus ensuring that at least one trophy remained in Hong Kong.

Six winners of regional qualifying matches competed in the Scott Cup this year – from Australia, Mainland China, Japan, Singapore, Taiwan and the UK – but were less successful in the final, and all of the trophies went to Hong Kong players.

The winner of Scott Cup, Alex Jenkins from Cathay Pacific, receives the trophy from John Slosar.
The winner of Scott Cup, Alex Jenkins from Cathay Pacific, receives the trophy from John Slosar.

Mark Windmill from Asia Miles wins the Taikoo Cup.
Mark Windmill from Asia Miles wins the Taikoo Cup.

The winner of the Scott Cup, with a Stableford score of 35 points, was Alex Jenkins of Cathay Pacific. The runner-up and winner of the Taikoo Cup, was Mark Windmill, from Asia Miles, also with a score of 35 points. (In the event of a tie, the winner is decided by the highest number of Stableford points on the final nine holes of the course.) The second runner-up was Martin Murray, of Cathay Pacific, with a score of 34 points.

The Rose Bowl is won by Cathay Pacific’s Eun Ju You.
The Rose Bowl is won by Cathay Pacific's Eun Ju You.

The winner of the Alethea Scott Rose Bowl was Eun Ju You, of Cathay Pacific, with a score of 29 points, closely followed by runner-up, Makiko Koda, also of Cathay Pacific, with 28 points.

The overseas winners fared a little better with the novelty prizes. The winner of the Men's Longest Drive was Tom Woolsey from Swire Properties in Mainland China and the Men's Nearest-the-pin on Hole No. 4 was won by Darren Edwards from Finlays Beverages in the UK. The winner of the Men's Nearest-the-pin prize for Hole No. 17 was Abdul Jabbar Ali from Cathay Pacific, and the much sought-after Award for Sportsmanship (better known as the Wooden Spoon) went to Mark Celenk, also of Cathay Pacific.

The Ladies' Nearest-the-pin prize was won by Kelly Chak from Cathay Pacific Services Limited and the Ladies' Straightest Drive was won by our Champion, Eun Ju You.

The Chairman of John Swire & Sons (H.K.) Limited, John Slosar, and his wife, Joy, kindly presented the trophies and hosted the prize-giving party at the Shek O Bungalow.

Reports from the regional qualifiers

The UK Scott Cup qualifier was held on 14th June 2017 at the Royal Wimbledon Golf Club. The field was smaller than usual, with 16 competitors from four group companies. It was a hot day and conditions were difficult, which affected the scoring. The winner was Julian Davies with 37 points; Darren Edwards was runner-up with 33 points, followed by John Whittaker on 30 points, representing a clean sweep for Finlays. Graham Bardsley won the Nearest-the-pin prize and John Palfreyman was the recipient of both the Longest Drive Award and (with the lowest points total) the Wooden Spoon.

Mainland China
The Swire China Scott Cup qualifier was held at Shanghai Sheshan Golf Club on 27th November 2017. A total of 29 players took part in the competition, with 13 representing Swire operating companies in Mainland China. The competition started at 11am after a warm-up round and finished at 4pm. Thomas Woolsey, Assistant Portfolio Manager, HKRI Taikoo Hui, was announced the winner, and Lin Liang-qi, President of Akzo Nobel China, was the runner-up.

The Scott Cup qualifier took place on 1st December 2017 at Moore Park Golf Club, Sydney. Local Sydney competitors were joined by the winners of the four intra-state competitions, held in November: Meng Chung Thong of Cathay Pacific from Western Australia, Brad Haskett of Cathay Pacific from Victoria, Howard Field of Cathay Pacific from Queensland and Stephen Blackmore of Swire Cold Storage from South Australia. The golfing conditions were perfect, with the course in great condition; the sun shone the whole way around and there was a light breeze.

The winner of the local competition, the Martin Speyer Trophy, was Nigel Chynoweth from Cathay Pacific with 38 points. Additional trophies were provided to the winners of the Retirees Trophy, Peter Lamrock, the Cathay Pacific Cup, Nigel Chynoweth, and the Ross Gregg Shipping Trophy – shared between Denis Speyer and Stephen Westfield.

The winner of the John Masson Armada Plate and the trip to Hong Kong to represent Swire Australia in the Scott Cup final was Nigel Chynoweth.

Southeast Asia
The Southeast Asian Scott Cup qualifier was held at the Singapore Island and Country Club on 6th October 2017. This year the weather was particularly hot and sunny and the sunscreen giveaway certainly came in handy. Perhaps it was the heat, or maybe just youthful exuberance, but there was plenty of competition for the Wooden Spoon from the younger China Navigation Company ("CNCo") contingent, with Jamie Gordon eventually securing the coveted good sportsman prize, having scored just three Stableford points with a handicap of 24! No one managed to land on the green to take the Nearest-the-pin prize, but Thibault Thiery of Swire Pacific Offshore eventually won the Longest Drive at 240m. Will Purcell of CNCo was overall winner of the regional Scott Cup trophy, with 39 Stableford points, playing off a handicap of 20.

The Japan Scott Cup qualifier was held on 10th October 2017 at Raforet & Matsuo Golf Club. This year, there were 22 players from the various Cathay Pacific out-ports and the winner was Kiyotaka Nakayoshi, Licensed Aircraft Engineer, from Osaka.

Scott Cup Taiwan 2017 took place on 6th November at Tashee Golf Club in Taoyuan County. The weather that day was clear and a total of five teams – 16 players – took part, with most Taiwan operating companies represented, including Cathay Pacific, Cathay Dragon, Swire Coca-Cola Beverages and Taikoo Motors.

This year's champion was Tom Tao from Taikoo Motors, with a score of 19. Tom received his trophy from Swire Group Taiwan Chairman, Derrick Chan, at the awards dinner following the match and there were also prizes for Nearest-the-pin and Longest Drive.

The Scott Cup qualifier was held on 6th December 2017 at Kericho Golf Club, in the Rift Valley Province in western Kenya. There were 40 participants, who played in typically fine Kericho weather. The tournament was open to Finlays staff and Kericho Club golfers.

John Smith emerged the winner with 36 points, playing off a handicap of 20. Chris Birgen was runner-up, beaten on a count-back, while Eunice Korir and Sammy Kirui took third and fourth positions respectively. Unfortunately John couldn't attend the Hong Kong competition due to sickness.

Scott Cup 2018
Scott Cup 2018
Finlays village electrification
Finlays village electrification
HK Vertical 1000
HK Vertical 1000
Sharing his passion
Sharing his passion
Swire News May 2018 issue
Download this issue in PDF